I have recently joined the unfortunate society of functioning humans whose email addresses have been borrowed by a spammer to use as their outgoing message.
We have high-speed internet service supplied by our local cable monopoly. Knowing the domain for subscriber email addresses, and knowing my first name, it is fairly easy to guess the email address associated with this account. I suppose the spammer, who was advertising an easy way to steal cable, thought it would be archly ironic to advertise his cable spam with the outgoing address of a cable ISP.
Anyway, I looked up the DNS record for his little scam operation:
Registrant:
Digital Cable 4 Free
11 South St.
Nokomis, FL 34275
USDomain name: DIGITALCABLE4FREE.COM
Administrative Contact:
Smith, James ninja21m@aol.com
11 South St.
Nokomis, FL 34275
US
9419662171
Technical Contact:
Smith, James ninja21m@aol.com
11 South St.
Nokomis, FL 34275
US
9419662171Registration Service Provider:
Site Protect Name Services, administrator@siteprotect.com
312 236 2132Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 15-Jul-2003.
Record expires on 17-Dec-2003.
Record Created on 17-Dec-2002.Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.SARASOTAEXTREME.COM 4.35.128.113
UDNS2.ULTRADNS.NET 204.74.101.1
The commonality between the name, email address, and number is that they all map to people named James, but neither the email address nor the number belong to a James Smith.
Let’s look carefully at SarasotaExtreme.com, since they are providing DNS service and since their name comes up on the order page [google cache].
Organization:
Sarasota Extreme
John Smith
11 south st
osprey, fl 34229
US
Phone: (941)9662171
Email: ninja21m@aol.comRegistrar Name.…: Register.com
Registrar Whois…: whois.register.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.register.comDomain Name: SARASOTAEXTREME.COM
Created on.….….…..: Wed, Jan 30, 2002
Expires on.….….…..: Sun, Jan 30, 2005
Record last updated on..: Tue, Jul 22, 2003Administrative Contact:
Sarasota Extreme
John Smith
11 south st
osprey, fl 34229
US
Phone: (941)9662171
Email: ninja21m@aol.comTechnical Contact, Zone Contact:
Register.Com
Domain Registrar
575 8th Avenue - 11th Floor
New York, NY 10018
US
Phone: 902-749-2701
Fax..: 902-749-5429
Email: domain-registrar@register.comDomain servers in listed order:
NS1.SARASOTAEXTREME.COM 4.35.128.113
UDNS2.ULTRADNS.NET 204.74.101.1
UDNS1.ULTRADNS.NET 204.69.234.1
but you can basically fill in anything these days and the registrar could care less as long as your credit card number clears.
Anyway, I would not recommend calling the number, pretending to be interested in ordering cable equipment, then going all Michael Savage on him when he asks for your credit card number, any more than I would recommend leaving a flaming bag of feces on his porch, letting the air out of his tires, or, above all, trying to steal digital cable. I believe that the very nature of digital cable makes it much harder to get digital cable for free than this yahoo would have you believe.
0 Responses to “It’s finally happened to me.”
Leave a Reply